Sometimes It’s Best To Say Nothing

There is no point in running a blog if you’re not going to use it. It has been over two years since my last post.

It’s not that there is a shortage of potential topics; blog fodder is abundant. I am learning that the first reaction to an event is not always the best vantage point from which to write. Things are not always as they seem, and she who blogs too soon may have to back up and go another direction. Once the words are in the blogosphere, they cannot be taken back. Better to say nothing and look like a fool, than to speak (or type) and remove all doubt. False accusations and rushes to judgment are ubiquitous.

I read several other blogs on a regular basis. Most are related to theology, since that is one of my passions. I have learned a lot by doing that. For the most part, it has made me think about what I want my blog to be. More importantly, I know what I do not want it to be.

I have only two descendants at this time. If there should be more, I would like for them to know the real me. I believe that if you want to really know someone, it’s best to read what they write. I have handwritten journals stashed away that may be interesting reading for future great-great grandchildren, if I am blessed to have any. Who knows where technology will lead? Maybe by then, these hypothetical descendants may be able to retrieve my entire life online. As the saying goes, I did most of my stupid stuff before the internet.

Of course it’s no fun to just bark in your own yard. As I get a little more focused on using my blog regularly, it would be fun to interact with others. For now, though, I’m just thinking with a keyboard.

This entry was posted in General Messages. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Sometimes It’s Best To Say Nothing

  1. Amber says:

    My son and I were just looking at your blog last week. I was suggesting to him to start one and on a topic he’s passionate about. It’s neat that you just posted! I really enjoy reading your stuff; you are a good writer!!!

    • I had been visiting a blog that shall remain nameless, that was supposed to be dedicated to identifying and preventing spiritual abuse. It turned out to be more of a bash-other-Christians forum. The person running the blog had noble intentions, I think, and had weathered a very bad experience in what sounded like a very unhealthy church. Problem is, she has started trolling the web for posts about high profile Christians and then bad-mouthing them on her own blog, and then this unhappy little chorus of people would join in. Some of them were civil enough, but there are a couple of really bitter souls as well. Sad. I hope that Seth does start a blog. Sometimes it’s hard to find something to write about. I’m trying to overcome that challenge.

Leave a Reply

